lecieltumultueux:

Happy Tuesday. I’ve been dabbling in audiobooks lately and it has me wondering about your reading habits! Do you have a Nook or Kindle? Read on your phone? Listens to audiobooks? Still buy books? Go to the bookstore or get them online? Buy used books? Stick to the library?

Obviously there is no…

I like your questions, so …

Do you have a Nook or Kindle? – Both, though I’ve passed the Nook onto my spouse. In addition to having a low end Kindle, I have the Kindle app on my Android phone and tablet. I will often switch between devices. I like the Kindle when I want to be undistracted. I use the phone when I’m on the go. It’s very handy when I’m waiting for a ride or in a crafts store.

Although I don’t use a physical Nook, I have the Nook app loaded on my Android tablet and use it to subscribe to Astronomy, Discover and Maximum PC.

Read on your phone?– Yep. Usually when I’m on the go. Having a library in your pocket is a wonderful thing. 

Listens to audiobooks? – Sometimes. Usually when my local library only has the book available in audio.

Still buy books? Go to the bookstore or get them online? Buy used books? Stick to the library? – I still buy books, though I’ll almost always buy an ebook if it is available. My house is just too cluttered to buy lots of physical books. HOWEVER I make exceptions. If illustrations are important, I’ll buy the physical book. Ebooks all too often have either none of the illustrations of the print edition or really crummy reproductions.

Since I buy 90% ebooks, I usually do this online. If I buy in paper, I try to buy locally first.

I use my library a lot. I really enjoy our local Overdrive based service. Not perfect, but has most of what I want. I borrow print books as well. I’m on my third Clive Cussler book in as many weeks. About the only time I’ll skip the library is if I’m reading for a book club. There never seem to be enough available copies, so I pop off to Amazon for a Kindle edition if it is available.

lecieltumultueux – Thanks for the questions!

Le ciel tumultueux: Get To Know Your Tumblarians Tuesday: Reading habits, e-readers, bookstores, etc.?

Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

