Open Notebook – Alaska State Library Video tour

Hi All,

I’m once again offering a work in progress. Taking further inspiration from Jan Holmquist’s lecture via series of short mobile phone videos, I’m working on a proof of concept video tour for the Alaska State Library.

I had originally intended to switch back and forth between the front and back cameras on my Galaxy S III camera during each video, but that turned out to not be possible. So my face will likely only be in a few videos.

So far I have posted:

  • An introduction
  • A 360 of the atrium our library is housed in
  • A view and description of our combined reference and circulation desk – Here I realized that while I had thought out WHAT to show, I hadn’t fully thought my audience through. This segment is clearly more of interest to librarians than patrons. I might record a patron-oriented version later.

I’ve planned these additional videos which I hope to get filmed and posted before I leave on a quick trip to Seattle on Friday:

  • Public Internet computers
  • Catalog/Research computers
  • Newspapers and magazines
  • Federal publications
  • Microfilm
  • Circulating collection – intending a view of stacks along with 3-5 books I’ve pulled
  • Reference collection – same concept as circulating collection
  • Maps and atlases
  • Hands-on learning collection (puzzles, etc) – not sure if this will make it in.

I’d love your feedback positive or negative about the videos — are we fresh or unprofessional? Your thoughts on my proposed outline are welcome too. And if you have questions about the Alaska State Library, ask me and I may put up a video response — if your question reaches me before Thursday, that is.

If this “proof of concept” gets a good reception here, I might try and get an official tour video series started involving more of the staff.

Finally, if you plan to do something similar, I’d suggest investing in an SD card for your phone. 8GB used to seem to large and now I’m having to delete videos as soon as they are uploaded to YouTube.

via MOOCing Up North http://ift.tt/1a2Jzdr

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

