thegreatlibraryescape:

danielcornwall:

As part of my exploration of Foursquare, I thought it would be helpful to check and see if any of our service points in Anchorage, Juneau or Sitka had a Foursquare presence. Here’s what I found:

Anchorage

  • Talking Book Center – Has a Foursquare page. 13 checkins from three visitors….

When I started marketing the library and building an online presence for my library, we already has FourSquare as well. I claimed it basically so I could keep an eye on it and stay aware of what was being posted or said about the library.

I honestly don’t do much with it other than have it provide me with monthly reports. It’s linked on the library’s homepage along with all the other social media profiles but I don’t really push it.

I do really recommend staying aware and on top of what’s being said about your library/museum. Search on twitter and Facebook, Google the library regularly. I find it an invaluable source of information from the patrons.

You make a good point. I already have Google alerts for the state library, archives and museums. We could do better on monitoring Twitter. Right now we only monitor the library on Twitter and not well. Hadn’t thought of Facebook searching at all but will try it!

Daniel aka Alaskan Librarian: Foursquare presence of Alaska Division of Libraries, Archives & Museums

Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

