A Micro SD, Internet and a Library – Needed virtual and physical space

Today I splurged on a 32 GB Micro SDHC card for my Galaxy S3 phone. I got the card because I wanted to have storage space for the HyperLibMooc reflection videos I hope to record while I’m on my Chile trip. That and penguins.

I made the above video from the Douglas Public Library parking lot to test that videos were properly saving to my new SD card. How I came to get the card and be in the parking lot of the Douglas library is an interesting story.

The story starts at home. I’d been thinking about adding storage to my phone for awhile and I knew that my phone had a Micro SD card slot that could theoretically hold up to 64 GB. But I wasn’t quite sure how involved the installation process was or how easy it was to switch my phone camera’s storage from the device to the SD card.

Enter YouTube. I typed in [how to install micro sd card galaxy s3] and found this video:

This gave me confidence that installing a card was a dead easy operation. While I was watching the video, I noticed that Inam Ghafoor had another video entitled “How to Move Camera Photos Images to SD Card on Samsung Galaxy S3:

So now I knew how to install the card and how to make the camera app save to the new card. We have a Costco in town, so I jumped on Costco.com to price cards. Looked like about $30 for a 32GB card and $54 for a 64GB card.

I hopped in the car and went to Costco. I found both a 32 and 64 GB card available. The 32 was SDHC and the 64 was SDXC. This concerned me so I pulled out my phone, opened my browser and did searches for Samsung Galaxy s3 and 32 and 64 GB cards. These two separate searches showed me that people seemed to be having a lot more trouble with the 64GB card, so I bought the 32GB.

Now I thought about where I could do the installation. I’m ashamed to admit it, but right now our condo does not really have any usable surfaces aside from my writing desk, which doesn’t have the greatest lighting. I was afraid of losing the thumbnail sized Micro SD card.

So I went to my local public library just two blocks from home. It was a brightly lit space and the person at the counter gave me a pair of scissors to use. I was able to work at a nice sized table so that I could remove my case and cover and open the Micro SD packaging without fear. The installation went even easier than in the video, possibly because I have a newer version of Android than the phone in the video. When I opened the camera app, it actually asked me if I wanted to use the new card instead of the phone.

The last thing to do was to actually record the video. The library had several people in it. One was talking to the librarian and the others seemed engaged in quiet study. Douglas is a very small library so I didn’t feel like I could record the video anywhere without being disruptive, so I chose the parking lot.

Without having the library as a good workspace, I might have thought it would have been too much of a bother to install the card. Without the internet, I wouldn’t have known how affordable and easy it was to quadruple my smartphone storage. I needed both the virtual and physical to make the upgrade work for me.

I don’t mean to reduce the library to a well lit workspace. But think about how many organizationally challenged people might benefit from your space. Making your library a welcoming space can move people from ideas to action.

via MOOCing Up North http://ift.tt/1a6ow7d

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

