So Many Books (At Least Three)

In many libraries, if a book is checked out or at another branch, you can place a hold on it. If the book is checked out, this places you on the list to read the book. Depending on the popularity of the book you might be next in line or 20th. If the book is at another branch and you’re allowed to place a hold on that book, it will be pulled from the shelf at the owning branch and sent to your branch to be picked up.

It’s a joke among librarians that if you ever place more than one hold at a time, whether or not items are checked out and regardless of when you placed the first hold, you’ll get all the items at once.

So it proved to me yesterday. Shortly after my two video holds (placed a week apart) arrived, I got my three “on hold” books delivered to me. Two had been checked out. I’m actually grateful that I don’t have any pending holds at the moment. I’ll be posting reviews to my personal blog as I get through with them.

This entry was posted in libraries and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

