#alaac14 ALA Council I – Reports and Supporting Air Force Libraries

The 2014 Annual Conference of the American Library Association (ALA) ended on July 1, 2014. I didn’t do writeups during conference because the hotel I was staying at, LVH/Westgate did not offer free in-room wifi and I was unwilling to pay $15/day PER DEVICE for it.  Why haven’t I written anything since? I have a whole set of lame and semi-lame excuses I can offer if you care enough to comment or message me. Otherwise, I’ll just apologize and move on.

Council I took place on Sunday, June 29, 2014 at 8:30am. We ended early.

We started off with a video greeting from Chairman Wheeler of the FCC. He thanked ALA for their support of e-rate reform and pledged more support for rolling out better wifi in libraries and schools. It was a very positive video and showed that the Chairman had a good grasp of library issues. I wish I could link to it, but it does not appear to be posted online. Since Council I, the FCC approved e-rate reform by a 3-2 vote. ALA applauds this move, as do I.

Most of the actual business of Council I focused on hearing reports. Some of the reports we heard included:

Presidential Task Force on Electronic Communication for the ALA Council, John C. Sandstrom, Chair, ALA CD#10 – We voted to accept the recommendations, with a few tweaks. I’m hopeful these new measures will give more access to more members of Council. – This report has not yet been posted to the 2014 Council documents page, but I hope it will be soon. If you’re really interested, let me know and I can send you a copy.

Review of Executive Board Actions Since the 2014 Midwinter Meeting, Keith Michael Fiels, Executive Director and Secretary to the ALA Council, ALA CD#15.1 – This report has not yet been posted to the 2014 Council documents page, but I hope it will be soon. If you’re really interested, let me know and I can send you a copy.

Implementation of the 2014 ALA Midwinter Meeting Council Actions, Keith Michael Fiels, ALA Executive Director and Secretary to the ALA Council, ALA CD#9.1 – This report has not yet been posted to the 2014 Council documents page, but I hope it will be soon. If you’re really interested, let me know and I can send you a copy.

Digital Content and Libraries Working Group Sari Feldman and Robert Wolven, Co-Chairs, ALA CD#30.1 – Simon & Schuster will now sell full catalog to all libraries. CT State Library is leading a statewide ebooks project. – Sari Feldman is now ALA President Elect. She and Robert Wolven have stepped down as co-chairs, but the group will continue to work under the leadership of current DCWG member Erika Linke (Associate Dean of Libraries, Carnegie Mellon University) and PLA President Carolyn Anthony (Director, Skokie (Illinois) Public Library) as incoming DCWG co-chairs. It is my hope they will continue the constructive work the DCWG has done so far.

After the reports, we considered the resolution:

Resolution in Support of Stable Funding for Air Force Libraries ALA Councilors Vicky Crone and Larry Romans, ALA CD#43 – I spoke in favor of this resolution as a former Air Force intern librarian (Lackland AFB and Tyndall AFB). My fellow Councilor Karen Schneider spoke eloquently as a former Air Force patron. She pointed out that many servicemembers in training were not allowed off the base to use the public libraries. Several others spoke in favor. None were against, though a few questioned why were were singling out the Air Force for support. The resolution passed overwhelmingly and I voted in favor. We need to support the people we insist on repeatedly putting in harm’s way.

As I mentioned at the top of the post, we ended early and we were thankful. Little did we know of the controversy to come.

This entry was posted in ALA and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

