Code of Conduct Survey Results: Your Stories

Some very creepy stories out of ALA conferences. This is why we need to keep our Code of Conduct.

The Magpie Librarian: A Librarian's Guide to Modern Life and Etiquette

Welcome to my second post regarding the results of my Code of Conduct surveyPreviously, I shared the cold-hard numbers, which are certainly helpful, but do not reflect the entire story of Code of Conduct violations at ALA Conferences. I left ample room for respondents to talk about their experiences. Here, I will share the stories and anecdotes that respondents were kind enough to include.

Before others tell their stories, I believe it would be polite and only right to share two of mine. I have been harassed several times at conferences, but two main stories compelled me to create the Code of Conduct survey. We all respond to different situations in our own ways. Verbal harassment never bothers me for long. It just rolls off my back. I think my tough NY exterior has desensitized me to certain kinds of behavior. However, unwanted touching bothers me beyond all belief…

View original post 4,566 more words

This entry was posted in ALA and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

