Making a Mess in our MakerSpace: Fireworks in a Jar and a Poor Man’s Lava Lamp

A couple of cool experiments to use in children’s programs. Thanks Ingrid for sharing!

The Magpie Librarian: A Librarian's Guide to Modern Life and Etiquette

We do a MakerSpace session every week with our school-aged library kids. For whatever reason, this is not a program I typically lead, so I always get a little nervous when it’s my turn. I wanted to do something STEM-y and science experiment-y as opposed to artsy and craftsy, so I started searching for inexpensive and easy-to-execute science experiments. After some searching and clicking, I found a website called I Can Teach My Child, run by a former teacher and current mom. Two projects seemed doable: Fireworks in a Jar and a Lava Lamp experiment. I like that Jenae, who runs the site, breaks down not only how to do the experiment but also the science behind it.

I had a fairly small group, thankfully, because these experiments have the potential to get messy and out of hand. Thanks to Emma from Miss Print for taking pictures! She is…

View original post 559 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making a Mess in our MakerSpace: Fireworks in a Jar and a Poor Man’s Lava Lamp

  1. Hey! Thanks for the reblog!

Leave a Reply

