Beyond ALA’s Code of Conduct: What can we do to combat harassment at ALA Conferences?

I think the Magpie Librarian makes good suggestions here on how to make reporting harassment easier. We’ve got a Code of Conduct. Now we need ways to implement it.

At some point, I’d like to see a button for reporting harassment and offering the information promised under the Code of Conduct put into the ALA app. I think it’s probably too late for Midwinter 2015, but maybe it can be thought of for Annual 2015?

The Magpie Librarian: A Librarian's Guide to Modern Life and Etiquette

This post has been a long time coming. I apologize for its tardiness, but the ideas percolating in my head regarding theresults of my ALA Code of Conduct survey have been numerous and various and hard to pin down. And clearly, a couple of issues have come to light since I’ve started compiling numbers and stories. Several librarians whom I respectand admire have voiced their support (monetarily and otherwise) for the Ada Initiative, which, among other things, promotes anti-harassment policies for conferences. In addition, the circumstances surrounding #teamharpy cannot be ignored. I imagine that however Joe Murphy’s legal proceedings play out, it will shape how the library world, which claims to be in favor of free speech and freedom of information, deals with people who speak out against harassment. For whatever it is worth, I would like to state that I fully support the Ada Initiative and #teamharpy (speaking…

View original post 1,626 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

