How My Local Library Enabled an Audiobook Purchase

Recently the person behind the xkcd comic came out with a book:

Munroe, Randall. 2014. What if?: serious scientific answers to absurd hypothetical questions. Find in a library.

 

I fell into choice paralysis with this book. It came out in paper and an audiobook edition. The paper version had the cartoons, which I loved. The audiobook version was read by Wil Wheaton who has become my absolute favorite narrator for anything geek-themed.

Paper or audio? I didn’t feel justified in buying both formats. I hemed and hawed for a couple of weeks. Then I tried a search in library catalog and found that the paper version of What If? was in our system. I placed a hold on it so I could check out the cartoon and then immediately went online and bought the audio book (available from Downpour, Amazon, Barnes & Noble.).

As much as I like xkcd, Mr. Munroe was only going to get one purchase from me. I might have kept going about paper vs. audio till I forgot about buying the book. But because my local public library bought one format, I bought the others.

One more tiny data point testifying to the idea that libraries encourage book sales and doesn’t cannibalize them.

This entry was posted in libraries, me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

